The Value of a Gift

Alas! Christmas is over. But the best part after Christmas is searching through the presents we got.

Hey, What you got?

No way, who gave that to you?

OMG, That’s awesome!

Who doesn’t love a thoughtful, pretty gift? I especially do! 😋

             But, sometimes, you do come across that old uncle who gives you some garish gift… and you, might unintentionally happen to say, “Aaahh, That’s cute”…. :P” Awkward!😒

Cam gift

Courtesy: Modern family, Season 6, Episode 10

              But seriously what is the value of a gift. The following story was heard by me in my childhood days. I don’t remember who told me or where I read it from. But it stayed with me till now. It really taught me to value a kind gesture from anyone and treat it with respect! So, I’m retelling this story in my own way. Hope you enjoy it!

              High on the northern valleys, surrounded by tall mountains, there lived a ruthful, shrewd and avaricious doctor, named Dr. Chen. He was very talented at his work and could have earned a great name for his services. But his unkind nature and cruel behavior, preventing him from dispensing his knowledge to the people in need.

                In spite of his behavior to them, people still would knock at his door for help, after having tried every other solution possible. He was their last resort. The doctor, knowing the misery of his patients, demanded exorbitant prices for his services. He would eventually succeed in treating his patients but the mental torture he gave them during the treatment would leave them scarred for days. 

“He is extremely selfish” one elderly woman said about the doctor, “He only loves money, he is too greedy to help the ill”, 

A young man said, “He once left an injured donkey to die , just because helping him wouldn’t have benefitted him.”

“He holds the cure of all the diseases, but his harsh words, make you think twice before visiting him again” said another.

               One late evening, there was a knock at his door. Since the doctor was busy smoking his cigar, he chose not to answer the door. After few minutes, there was another knock heard. “Ah!” Dr. Chen ignored it once again. Some time passed in silence. Then again, the knocks grew louder. Irritated, Dr. Chen finally opened the door. A young, tired woman stood before him. She looked like she travelled from afar. 

“Ah, Do you think I’m deaf? I did hear the knock at the first time,” he growled.

“Ar..Are you Dr. Chen?” said the nervous woman.

“Who do you expect to live here? This is Dr. Chen’s property. Isn’t it obvious that he would reside here too?” howled Dr. Chen.

“Sorry to disturb you, Sir, I have travelled from far just to meet you. My name is Tsui. I need your help, Sir!” cried the woman.

“I am busy now. Come next week. I’ll see whether I should help you then,” said the doctor.

“No Sir, I can’t wait so long. My son is severely ill. He is counting his last days. Only you can save him,” pleaded Tsui.

“So, what can I do? Your son is ill! Well, that’s your problem, not mine! I can’t help you now!” roared the doctor. 

“No, Please Sir, You are my only hope. Please help me!” begged Tsui with tears flowing out of her tired eyes. 

“Begone!” screamed the doctor, trying to slam his door on Tsui’s face. But Tsui was adamant too; she was not ready to give up.

“NO! I want you to come and see my son, right now. I promise, to give you anything you ask in exchange for his life.” cried Tsui. “Whatever amount you claim, I’m ready to give that to you.”

            Dr. Chen’s eyes glistened with greed. He saw an excellent opportunity to earn big, plus vacation at a nice place. “Okay, I agree to help you. But you have to take on, the full expense of my travel.” “Yes!” exclaimed Tsui. “Mind you, I travel high class,” said Dr. Chen.“Never mind, I can handle anything!” shrieked Tsui, surprised at her luck so far. 

“Okay, wait here, let me gather my belongings. In the meantime, call a spacious caravan for me. I like to travel with my feet stretched,” said the doctor.“Yes, Sir!” exclaimed Tsui.

        Together they travelled for sixteen long hours, occasionally stopping at the nearby extravagant diners for feeding the doctor’s constant lust for food. Even though the doctor demanded more than he required, Tsui patiently fulfilled all his commands.

                Finally, they reached a small cottage. Tsui directed the doctor inside. There, on a bed, laid an unconscious boy about three years old, pale and fragile. Looking at him, Tsui wept silently. The doctor sat on the stool next to the bed. He examined the boy and quickly realized that the boy suffered from chronic malaria. “I can treat your kid, but first I need some rest, arrange for my stay here,” demanded the doctor.

“Yes, there’s a nice inn nearby. You’ll be comfortable there. Just cure my kid.”

The doctor sneered, “That I shall.”

            Tsui followed his orders dutifully. She provided him with a luxurious room to stay at a nearby inn with all the necessary amenities and treated him with respect and kindness . As promised, Dr. Chen began treating Tsui’s son. Day after day, he grew better and better; within two weeks, he was able to run and play just like before. Delighted, Tsui couldn’t believe in the miracle before her.

“Thank you, Dr. Chen. You are really a Godsend Angel to us!” rejoiced Tsui. 

“Let the praises be aside, young woman. You remember your promise. Don’t you?” said an indifferent Dr. Chen.

“Yes, Sir, I’ll give you anything you want!” 

“I want twenty-thousand gold coins!” demanded the doctor.

                Tsui silently walked back into her house and returned with a small silk purse. It was blue-green, handwoven with gold, intricate designs on the front. By the way she held it, it was surely her most prized possessions. She handed it over to Dr. Chen.

“I am really grateful for your services, Sir. I would like you to have this purse. It is crafted by me and is of great value to me! Kindly accept it as a gift from me,” said Tsui.

“What is this shit!” Dr. Chen threw the purse on the floor with anger. “You traitor, we had a deal!” screamed the doctor. “You promised to give me whatever I demand, and you present me with this little purse!” “This invaluable piece of scum is nothing to me! Don’t try to sell me your garbage. I have nothing to do with it. I demand you, give me my money now!” growled the doctor.

              Tsui was disappointed, but held her tears back. Visibly disheartened by the doctor’s insults, she silently walked towards the fallen purse. She held it in her hands, dusted off the dirt and opened it carefully. Dr. Chen stared at her furiously. She pulled out fifty-thousand gold coins from it. Carefully counting twenty-thousand from it, she handed the money to the doctor.

“Here’s your money, Sir. Thank you once again.” Tsui said silently and walked away. Shocked, Dr. Chen deeply repented his behavior. 

The TeeKay Take:

Always value the feelings of the giver, the value of the gift doesn’t matter!

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. I like the story, the way you narrate it, and your last comment. The doctor was expecting his fees, and however it seemed he had no interest in gifts or in his patients’ recovery. Indeed, a present is valuable for valuable people, whereas it is not that worthy for those who are wicked and materialistic.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Glad you enjoyed it..😊
      I had heard this story when I was 8 something years old… Have been trying to find the original piece since then!
      But then I realized, since I remember it so vividly.. Why not retell it?
      Therefore, wrote it “In My words” again…
      Do come back again, next month… I’ll be writing more short stories!😊🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That is good! I see a talented writer in you! Keep writing; I will be your first reader hopefully 😉 cheers always!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. globestrut says:

    Wow.. mind-blowing.. retelling a story in such a lovely way is definitely worthwhile.Loved the end.. it’s after all the thought that matters and not the value. A relation can’t be a measure of materialistic desires but it should be above all immaterial and true to the soul.This is a soul-stirring piece.Bravo 👏👏👏

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

